Top Fives

Like I said in post numero uno, I love making top five lists. I fantasize about journalists interviewing me and asking me what my top five favorite films or actors are so often, that should this dream (big dream right there) come true, I would be able to rattle them off at a very impressive rate. So without further ado, here are my current lists:

MOVIES

  1. Life is Beautiful (Roberto Benigni, Italy, 1998)
  2. Goodfellas (Martin Scorsese, USA, 1990)
  3. The Truman Show (Peter Weir, USA, 1998)
  4. Memento (Christopher Nolan, USA, 2000)
  5. The Royal Tenenbaums (Wes Anderson, 2001)

TV SHOWS

  1. Sherlock (BBC/PBS)
  2. Veep (HBO)
  3. Modern Family (ABC) OR The Mindy Project (FOX)
  4. Friends (off air)
  5. Freaks and Geeks (off air)

I’m a huge fan of UK imports, but aside from Sherlock, there isn’t really one that sticks out to me as top five worthy. Maybe because many of them are so short-lived, that when I’m done watching them, they fade into the back of my mind as a longer running show in which I invested more time would not. I actually quite prefer snappy one-two seasoners though, even if I miss them dreadfully when they’re over. At least with these shows there’s quality control – something which American TV shows, especially ones on the major networks, severely lack. Most American TV shows which start off strong end up overstaying their welcome, dragging on and on until everybody hates them. Like The Office (which actually had a pretty good final season though), and especially How I Met Your Mother (which admittedly was never that good. I have no idea why I still watch it). Anyways, some notable UK imports I love include Cranford, Downton Abbey, Moone Boy, Endeavor, Fresh Meat, and The Inbetweeners among others.

MUSICIANS

  1. Coldplay
  2. Philip Glass
  3. Radiohead
  4. Oasis
  5. Queen

BOOKS

  1. Team of Rivals (Doris Kearns Goodwin, Biography, 2005)
  2. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt, Memoir, 1996)
  3. A Tale of Two Cities (Charles Dickens, Fiction, 1859)
  4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (JK Rowling, YA Fiction, 1999)
  5. Brideshead Revisited (Evelyn Waugh, Fiction, 1945)

Actually, not really sure about this entire list, though Team of Rivals is definitely my favorite book. And Angela’s Ashes has to be on there too. The rest are kind of questionable. Especially Brideshead.

Some other lists, just because I feel like making more:

2013 MOVIES

  1. Gravity (Alfonso Cuaron, USA)
  2. Her (Spike Jonze, USA)
  3. Crystal Fairy (Sebastian Silva, Chile)
  4. This is the End (Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogen, USA)
  5. Star Trek: Into Darkness (JJ Abrams, USA)

I admittedly didn’t watch too many movies in theaters this year. I wanted to watch Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave and Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine, among others, but never got the chance. Other movies on this list that I remember watching include David O’Russell’s American Hustle and Francis Lawrence’s Catching Fire. While American Hustle is probably rated in my mind above This is the End and Star Trek: Into Darkness, in terms of expectations, it was a letdown, whereas the other two were not. I honestly don’t see how American Hustle won the Golden Globe for Best Comedy/Musical over Her (those were the only two on that list that I actually watched, so I can’t speak for the others). It was good, but not that good.

PEOPLE IN MOVIES/TV

  1. Spike Jonze (Director/Writer)
  2. Jim Carrey (Actor)
  3. Wes Anderson (Director/Writer)

This short list does not represent a list of my favorite directors and actors – though they are three of my favorites – but just people I am randomly obsessed with right now (well, my Spike Jonze obsession isn’t that random, considering Her only recently came out and is currently making its way through the awards circuit).

Leave a Reply

