Update

Since I haven’t been posting reviews or analyses or even just thoughts on all the movies I’ve watched this summer, I’ll just put out a list for my records. So in a few years from now I can look back at this list and smile (or you know, grimace at how much TV I watched this summer.)

  1. Thor
  2. Captain America
  3. The Avengers
  4. ET: the Extraterrestrial
  5. Tootsie
  6. Borat
  7. Dead Poets Society
  8. Pretty Woman
  9. Casablanca
  10. The Philadelphia Story
  11. Drive
  12. Kings of Pastry (documentary)
  13. Schindler’s List
  14. Annie Hall
  15. Lars and the Real Girl
  16. Pan’s Labyrinth
  17. Despicable Me
  18. Vertigo
  19. Midnight in Paris
  20. The Ides of March
  21. Snow White and the Huntsman
  22. Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
  23. Jaws
  24. Unstoppable
  25. The Best Years of Our Lives
  26. Rebel Without a Cause
  27. The Amazing Spiderman
  28. Moonrise Kingdom
  29. Take the Money and Run
  30. Like Crazy

More on each later…if I get around to it, that is. I at least want to blog about Like Crazy. Seriously one of the best, most refreshing love stories I’ve seen in a while. That one reminds me a bit of The Graduate.

Oh and some good books I’ve read since my last post…Great Expectations by Charles Dickens and Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. Both Dickens and Waugh did a fabulous job of building their characters – in both books, the characters are so complex and relateable that they just come alive. Especially in Brideshead…I think I might have to analyze that book on paper for me to feel some closure with that book. The characters are just so realistically and honestly crafted that you have to really think about them and how they’re all interconnected (especially with the mother) in order to truly understand them and the book. With Dickens it’s easier to just appreciate the depth of the characters but move on without really thinking too much about them and why they’re the way they are and how they’re connected with other characters because there’s a relatively easy-to-digest plot behind the whole thing (though thinking about all the moral conundrums presented to Pip in this book is a great intellectual exercise…oh gosh, did I just say that? That was a really pretentious thing for me to say, I must admit), but with Waugh, the characters ARE the plot. I feel like it’s more of a character study than anything, and thus, some sort of meditation upon the book is needed after reading to piece the whole thing together. But more later. I’m quite hungry right now… I’m feeling grilled cheese? Though I should probably have a grilled chicken salad. Oh, dilemmas.

Leave a Reply

