TicketStubsandDVDs presents…

I guess it’s about time that I introduce myself. Hi everybody, I’m M. This summer I’m on a quest to make myself more cultured by reading more books, watching more movies, and keeping up to date with my current events…all in preparation for my two choice careers, screenwriting and journalism.

In terms of literature, I kicked off my summer vacation with some guilty pleasure reading – Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games series – and have now moved on to reading my way through the works of two of my favorite authors, Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. I wish Austen had written a couple more novels because I could really go for another one of her dashing romances set in a pretty town of named estates, filled with a comprehensive blend of characters innocent and scheming, accomplished and ignorant, strong-willed and subservient, stern and coquettish, and topped off with an apt title often capturing the protagonists’ most significant character flaws in a couple pithy words. (Except for Emma…I would rename that one.) I am currently working my way through Dickens’ Great Expectations. I really want to love that one, but so far it’s hit a bit of a slow point. The characters are intriguing (though I’m sorry to say, the blacksmith Joe, while being a sweet character, annoys me to pieces), but I need the pace to pick up a bit for me to get truly engrossed in the story.

In terms of films, I have so far watched a couple more movies on the AFI 100 best films list, as well as some good ones that didn’t make the cut. I loved some, enjoyed others, and  was underwhelmed by many. Partly because as of now, I’m not the most perceptive of viewers. More on this later.

Since this is getting to be a pretty long post (I’m notorious for being way too verbose…when writing, that is), I’ll end by playing one of my favorite games called “Let’s go around in a circle and name our top five favorite _____” or “Top fives” for short.

TOP FIVE FAVORITE BOOKS

  1. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt
  2. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  4. Persuasion by Jane Austen
  5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

TOP FIVE FAVORITE MOVIES

  1. The Pianist directed by Roman Polanski
  2. Kramer vs. Kramer directed by Robert Benton
  3. Schindler’s List directed by Steven Spielberg
  4. The Departed directed by Martin Scorsese
  5. Titanic directed by James Cameron

Hopefully, by the end of the summer my lists will change dramatically as I expose myself to a wealth of great books and movies!

Leave a Reply

